Kelana Jaya Line

The Kelana Jaya Line (KLJ) is one of the two lines in Kuala Lumpur’s light rail transit (LRT) network. The line was formerly known as PUTRA LRT (Projek Usahasama Transit Ringan Automatik Sdn Bhd), and was officially changed from Putraline to Kelana Jaya Line in July 2005.

The system, at 29km long, when first launched, was the world’s longest fully automated driverless metro system in the world. Today, it remains as the world’s second longest fully-automated driverless metro system and the longest self-powered metro in Asia.

The line currently uses 70 Bombardier- built Advanced Rapid Transit (ART) MK II vehicles in 35 train sets with two cars. KLJ’s average train speed is 40km/h and the system operates for 18 hours a day. It comprises 24 stations and was constructed in two sections ie. Lembah Subang to Pasar Seni, and from Pasar Seni to Ampang and Gombak.

The stations are constructed in a north-south direction. Stations with island platforms allow easy interchange between north-bound and south-bound trains without requiring one to walk up or down to the concourse level.

Prasarana signed an agreement in October 2006 with Bombardier and Hartasuma Consortium for the purchase of 22 new 4-car train sets, with an option for another 13, amounting RM1.2 billion.

The four-car trains started operations in December 2009 and as at June 2010, 10 sets of 4-car trains are in operations.

All stations are equipped with adequate facilities and sufficient information for passengers. The design of the stations took into consideration the safety features for its passengers by incorporating its platform edges with protective barriers, which includes an intrusion detection system to prevent passengers getting too close to the moving trains or tracks.

Every platform has emergency buttons and a two way passenger assistance telephones linked to the central control room, which monitors fixed CCTV cameras located throughout the system. To ease monitoring, the stations are constructed to a standard design, each with 68m platform length. Through the use of permanent rail fixings, a 5cm gap is achieved between the trains and the platform edge, allowing easy access for disabled travellers.

Links with other transport system are an important part of the network. Each station has dedicated feeder bus stops and interchanges with other urban rail services at KL Sentral, such as the KTM Commuter, KLIA Express and KL StarRail. It interchanges with the Ampang Line at the Masjid Jamek station in Jalan Tun Perak.

Kelana Jaya Line stations were built to support disabled passengers, featuring elevators and wheelchair lifts alongside escalators and stairways between various levels of the stations. The Kelana Jaya Line stations were also designed to have platform gaps smaller than 5 cm to allow easy access for the disabled and wheelchair users. The stations are currently the only rapid transit stations in the Klang Valley designed to provide a degree of accessibility for handicapped users. 

The Ampang Line (formerly known as STAR LRT) is a driver-operated light rail transportation system. The Ampang Line has two lines covering Ampang eastern district to the City Centre and another line from Sentul towards the south to the National Sports Complex at Bukit Jalil.

Ampang Line

The system started in 1998 with an operational network covering 27km. The Ampang Sri Petaling Line has 25 stations transporting passengers from the northern, north-eastern, and south-western suburbs of the Klang Valley.

The construction of the Ampang line, Phase 1, began in August 1993 and was completed in December 1996. It covers a distance of 12km comprising 14 stations operating at a daily frequency of 5 to 15 minutes interval. The Phase 1 line began commercial service in December 1996 between Ampang and Jalan Sultan Ismail.

The construction of the Ampang Line, Phase 2, began in 1995 and has been operational since middle of 1998. It consists of 12km extension from Chan Sow Lin station in Kuala Lumpur to Sri Petaling (Bukit Jalil) and a 3km extension from Sultan Ismail to Sentul. Under Phase 2, a 15km track with 11 stations was built to serve the northern and southern areas of Kuala Lumpur to cater for the Commonwealth Village and National Sports Complex in Bukit Jalil, during the KL Commonwealth Games in 1998.

The Ampang Line station buildings are designed with unique characteristics which combines an efficiency of space with a contemporary style that’s both functional and elegant.